Class Year News


Michael D. McClintick, DO (COM ’79), was elected president of Kansas Association of Osteopathic Medicine. Photo 1


Kevin Anderson, DO (COM ‘00), has joined Reliant Medical Group’s department of internal medicine. Reliant Medical Group is located Massachusetts. He completed his residency and internship at Summa Health System in Akron, Ohio and is certified by the American Board of Internal Medicine. In addition, Dr. Anderson earned an MHA from Ohio University.

Christopher A. Swingle, DO (COM '00), was elected 2018 president of the St. Louis Metropolitan Medical Society. Dr. Swingle previously has held offices including president-elect, 2017; vice president, 2016; and councilor, 2014-2015. Specializing in nuclear medicine, Dr. Swingle is an attending physician at Mercy Hospital St. Louis. He is certified by the American Board of Nuclear Medicine, the Certification Board of Cardiac Computed Tomography and the Certification Board of Nuclear Cardiology. He is a member of the Greater St. Louis Society of Radiologists and was 2016 president. He also is a member of the Missouri Radiological Society, the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging, the Radiological Society of North America and the American Roentgen Ray Society. SEE PHOTO 2

Brenda C. Westhoff, DO (COM ‘00), has joined St. Anthony Physicians Group Gastroenterology. St. Anthony Physician Group has offices throughout Oklahoma and Kansas. Dr. Westhoff is board certified in gastroenterology and internal medicine. After graduating from KCU, she completed an internal medicine residency and fellowship in Gastroenterology/Hepatology from Kansas University Medical Center. Photo 3


Carey Andreoiu, DO (2006), joined Sparks Clinic Urological Specialists at 520 Towson Ave., Suite B in Fort Smith. She is a urogynecologist, a specialty that combines gynecology and urology. She worked at Cooper Clinic and has been treating patients in the River Valley since 2013. Andreoiu is board certified in obstetrics and gynecology.


Shawn R. Morrow, DO, (COM '06), has been named a 2018 Top Doctor in Wichita, Kansas. Top Doctor Awards is dedicated to selecting and honoring those healthcare practitioners who have demonstrated clinical excellence while delivering the highest standards of patients. He is certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery. Photo 4


Altin Miraka, DO (COM ‘08), recently joined MidMichigan Health at MidMichigan Medical Center in Midland, Michigan. He completed his residency in urology at Detroit Medical Center and is Board Certified in Urology. Photo 5

John W. Miles, DO (COM '06), has joined the staff at West Virginia University Medicine Jefferson Medical Center and University Healthcare Physicians. He is a board certified anesthesiologist and previously practices in Tennessee, California and Nevada. He is a member of the American Society of Anesthesiology and the American Osteopathic Association.


Thuy M. Nguyen, DO, (COM '11), is currently the chief resident for the Department of Neurosurgery at Michigan State University College of Osteopathic Medicine Beaumont Health and will be starting an orthopedic spine surgery fellowship at Oregon Health and Science University in August 2018. Photo 6


Curtis Boyd III, DO (COM ‘12), has joined Baptist Health Women’s Clinic located in Conway, Arkansas. Upon graduating from KCU, Dr. Boyd completed his residency at Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center.


Hannah Strong, DO (COM ’14), has joined the Hospital Sisters Health System (HSHS) Medical Group and provides care for patients in Highland and Greenville, Illinois. She is a member of the American Academy of Pediatrics and American Osteopathic Association. Photo 7

The following were recognized at the Missouri Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons 2018 Annual Conference:

Medallion Award presented to Robert Schwarze, DO (COM ‘ 80)

Distinguished Service Award presented to Neal LaPointe, DO (COM ‘87)

District Leadership Awards were presented to Allison Fischer, DO (COM ’81) and Mike Spezia, DO (COM ’77)

Legislator of the Year Award presented to Jim Neely, DO (COM ‘85)

In addition, Marc B. Hahn, DO, KCU President & CEO was selected to receive a Medallion Award.

KCU Remembers

In memory of the alumni and friends we have recently lost.

Lief E. Adams, DO (COM '61) | 12/10/2017

Donald A. Anderson, DO (COM '63) | 1/20/2018

Raymond E. Beck, DO (COM '54) | 9/5/2017

Jack D. Bergstresser, DO (COM '65) | 3/7/2018

Anthony G. Blando, DO (COM '60) | 11/11/2017

Paul M. Cayavec, DO (COM '88) | 1/7/2018

Dudley D. Darr, DO (COM '62) | 2/7/2018

Edward M. Feldman, DO (COM '66) | 10/3/2017

Arturo Gonzalez, DO (COM '56) | 12/12/2017

Eric S. Grajkowski, DO (COM '6) | 2/4/2018

Edwin J. Grzesik, DO (COM '62) | 10/24/2017

Norman F. Hansen, DO (COM '55) | 8/7/2017

Nathan C. Inzerillo, DO (COM '77) | 4/14/2018

Donald J. Krpan, DO (COM '67) | 1/4/2018

Edward A. Loniewski, DO (COM '57) | 1/23/2018

Bryan E. Malloch, DO (COM '67) | 10/8/2017

Carl L. Neufeld, DO (COM '55) | 1/15/2018

Howard W. Osborn, DO (COM '65) | 3/6/2018

James O. Royder, DO (COM '65) | 1/16/2018

Leonard Smith, DO (COM '54) | 12/14/2017

David W. Stoneking, DO (COM '97) | 4/9/2018

Emery L. Suderman, DO (COM '61) | 9/22/2017

J. David Sullivan, DO (COM '74) | 11/4/2017

E. Glynn Taunton, DO (COM '82) | 11/9/2017

Robert J. Trethewey, DO (COM '76) | 3/8/2018

Dean E. Wintermute, DO (COM '57) | 2/17/2018

Edward M. Feldman, DO (COM ‘66)

Dr. Feldman died on Oct. 3, 2017. He was one of the first DOs to serve in the U.S. Navy as a physician. For his service in Vietnam, he was awarded a Silver Star and two Bronze Stars and was the first, an do nly, DO to be nominated for the Congressional Medal of Honor. The nomination came following a particularly heroic display of courage:

In September 1968, as a triage officer at the Marine medical facility in Quang Tri, near the DMZ, Dr. Feldman was airlifted to the edge of a violent firefight where wounded soldiers needed medical assistance.

Following his tour in Vietnam, Dr. Feldman completed his residency training and was board certified in obstetrics and gynecology. In 1980, he moved to California, where he was an associate professor at Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific. Following his military service, he served as a subject matter expert for SOCOM, vice chairman of the California Department of Veteran Affairs, and national surgeon of the Jewish War Veterans of America.

In 2011, the KCU Alumni Association recognized Dr. Feldman with the Star Spangled Banner Medallion. Dr. Feldman is survived by his wife, Patricia, and his three children and seven grandchildren.

Mary Louise Mouritsen Dybedal

Mary departed on Dec. 12, 2017. Along with her husband, Paul W. Dybedal, DO (COM ’54), whom she married while he was an osteopathic medical student at Kansas City University, Mary was a generous benefactor and friend of the University. She was a caring mother to her four children.

Throughout their careers, both Mary and Paul were pillars in the community, providing scholarships and building the KCU Dybedal Research Center.

In 2008, Mary was awarded a prestigious Doctor of Human Letters from the University in honor of her many contributions.