• OCCE

    Community Clinical Education

    Establishing strong and valued partnerships with highly regarded physicians, hospitals and clinic systems all over the nation

Office of Community Clinical Education

  • The Office of Community and Clinical Education (OCCE) is committed to providing medical students with high quality clinical experiences. Throughout the University's history, strong and valued partnerships have been established with highly regarded physicians, hospitals and clinic systems all over the nation.

    Our goal is to support students, preceptors and sites in any reasonable way possible. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions or concerns at occe@kcumb.edu.

    Senior Associate Dean of Clinical Affairs and Graduate Medical Education
    John J. Dougherty, D.O., FACOFP, FAOASM, FAODME
    816-654-7303
    jdougherty@kcumb.edu 
    Directs the oversight of clinical clerkship experiences throughout the continuum of the College of Osteopathic educational curriculum.

    OCCE Staff

    Administrative Director
    Valorie L. Millican
    816-654-7332
    vmillican@kcumb.edu
    Responsible for overseeing the daily office functions, office personnel, point of contact for the Assistant Regional Deans, affiliation agreements, directing programs and activities.

    Preceptor Coordinator
    Michelle L. Houser
    816-654-7335
    mhouser@kcumb.edu
    Assists in updating the credentialing of community clinical faculty and preceptors, Continuing Medical Education credit and coordinating preceptor awards.  

    Clinical Clerkship Coordinator - Kansas City Region
    Kelly Handschin
    816-654-7337
    khandschin@kcumb.edu
    Responsible for scheduling and coordinating clerkships in the Kansas City region.

    Clinical Clerkship Coordinator - Kansas City Region
    Angie Clemmer
    816-654-7328
    aclemmer@kcumb.edu
    Responsible for scheduling and coordinating clerkships in the Kansas City region.

    Clinical Clerkship Coordinator - Outside Kansas City Region
    Angela K. Imes
    816-654-7334
    aimes@kcumb.edu  
    Responsible for scheduling and coordinating clerkships outside the Kansas City region.

    Clinical Clerkship Coordinator - Outside Kansas City Region
    Meghan Denney
    816-654-7336
    mdenney@kcumb.edu 
    Responsible for scheduling and coordinating clerkships outside the Kansas City region.